Welcome to Lot 48!

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 9.30.13 PM

The start screen of the game introduces the rules to the player as well as plays the show’s theme song!

This project was a blast to work through the whole time. From concept, to creation, to final game I faced interesting design and technical challenges which was an awesome way to address two of my passions in one assignment. This Parks and Recreation themed game is called “Welcome to Lot 48” and takes the player through a riveting game of hangman to discover if park will be built or a Paunch Burger!

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 9.31.04 PM

While playing a hint is available for each word/phrase.

Since the game is based on an iconic  TV show it was very important for me to include as many recognizable sound clips as possible to really immerse the player into the Parks world. Both the victory and failure pages use unique sounds only for those specific uses. The failure page includes a typically soul crushing Ron Swanson quote that praises freedom and the right to choose obesity over parks. The victory page is an overly optimistic Leslie Knope quote praising the player’s savviness and skill. I think this was a great way to convey that main relationship from the show through the different points in the game.

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 9.30.44 PM

The failure screen depicts the inevitable installation of a dreaded Paunch Burger.

For the overall design I chose to stick with understated colors and visuals much like the municipal government office that much of the show takes place in. Another large part of the game experience is the sound component. Over 30 sounds are loaded into the game and pull randomly depending on whether the guesses are correct or incorrect. The sound aspect also includes most of the main characters to create a feel of being a part of the Parks team.

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 9.31.22 PM

The victory screen not only plays an inspirational Leslie Knope quote but also shows her staring directly at you, so as to better shower you with unwanted compliments.

The main challenge I faced came with displaying the letters in the guess boxes. I knew I needed to loop through the array of guess boxes and fill the text with the letters, however that was difficult at first. For a while I could make the boxes that contained the letters disappear rather than the boxes that were empty. After a lot of trial and error and restructuring of my while loops and the conditional logic, I realized that by using the visibility of embedded text boxes in the guess boxes I was able to have full control of when a letter was visible or not. I also had difficulty playing sound when it was the victory or failure screen. I didn’t have issues with playing the sound, but with playing only the victory/failure sound. My original approach always played sound on either a correct or incorrect guess, making the last guess (either right or wrong) overlap with the victory/failure sound. By using an if statement within my original if statement I fixed this problem by first checking if the guess made was the last one, and if so playing the corresponding sound – if not, a random sound was chosen either from the right or wrong sound arrays.

Finally, I felt this project was a wonderful way to test myself and push myself to continuously create a better game. By walking through not only as a creator but also as I player I was able to create a player centric game that has the most fun and functionality for my target users!

My game can be played here.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

