Out of Town

My game is called Out of Town. Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 8.00.35 PMI used street photography and the sound of footsteps to depict the player walking farther and farther out of town. The game either ends with the user walking to far and ending their journey or being satisfied with how far they have walked. I wanted both endings to be kind of ambiguous, the interpretation is left up to the player. I kept the game itself monochromatic because it fit with the black and white street photography that I chose for the background. I also wanted the input keys to resemble those of a type writer so I used a font that would communicate that.

Screen Shot 2015-11-12 at 8.00.50 PMI didn’t have many problems coding the game except for the fact that sometimes the check guess function wouldn’t count the wrong guesses after the user had gotten at least on correct guess. I never really found out what the problem was but adding an extra variable to hold the correct guesses seemed to solve it.

IScreen Shot 2015-11-12 at 8.01.01 PM also had a problem getting the game to switch screens at the correct time. Sometimes it would play the footstep sound but still stay on the first screen until the user guessed two incorrect letters. I fixed this by re-arranging my punishment function. Other than that I enjoyed making this game.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

