Crayon Candle Struggle

I decided to try to make a candle out of crayons. When I chose this as my DIY, I didn’t realize how much of a train wreck this project would be. The problems sprouted, when I did a quick google search for ‘how to make a candle out of crayons.’ I hastily read over the paragraph for the top result without actually clicking the link.   

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 2.19.45 AM

A screen shot taken after my hasty google search.

After reading (more like skimming) the paragraph, I concluded that all I had to do was microwave some crayons. So, I went to the store and bought some crayons, a glass jar, and a wick. Once in my dorm, I peeled my first few crayons, broke them up, put them in a shot glass, and microwaved them for 30 seconds. I did this probably twenty times and my crayons were barely melted!

I went back to the original web page, defeated. After finally reading it, watching a ‘how to’ video posted on SoCraftastic, and visiting a mothering forum I realized my two major mistakes: using glass instead of dixie cups and not adding a base wax to the crayons. My roommate, who saw my sad, first attempt, ended up helping me find a solution to the problems without having to go out and buy more supplies. She suggested I set the shot glass in a mug half submerged in water and then microwave it (the dorm double boiler). It worked like a charm, still slower than I would have liked, but a charm nonetheless. The entire candle took about 3 hours to make overall.

This project taught me that I like to learn by doing and experimenting. The most of the web sources did not really hold my attention long enough for me to learn much from them. There was one instructional web page called, “Crayon Candles. A pretty but not a functional project.” that I found particularly helpful because of the many pictures. There was even a picture of their home made double boiler similar to mine.

Works Cited:

Beyer, Rachel. “DIY Crayon Candles.” Evermine. 15 Sept. 2014. Web.

Takacs, Sarah. “CRAYON CANDLE – How To – Home Decor – Fall Into Crafts.” YouTube. SoCraftastic. 20 Sept. 2013. Web.

Cristina. “Crayon Candles. A pretty but not a functional project.” Remodelando la Casa. 20 Jan. 2014. Web.

loriforeman. “Crayons to Candles?” Mothering. 28 Aug. 2007. Web.

cathleen_ni_houlihan. “Can I make candles without special eqipment?” GardenWeb. 9 Oct. 2011. Web.

This entry was posted in #1. DIY Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

